FANS – Tamilnadu

FANS : Run for First Indian Independence Day & Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose 30th December..... This is the day in 1943, Bharat's first portion of land was freed from the clutches of British, as Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose declared Bharat's independence by unfurling the National Flag in Andaman Island. Forum for Awareness of National Security (FANS) celebrates this historic event every year in Port Blair. This year onwards, FANS is celebrating this event in addition in different parts of Bharat. At Villupuram in Tamilnadu, a grand Marathon was organised with about 3500 young boys and girls participated. At the playgrounds near the Collectorate, about 3500 thousands of boys and girls assembled at 7 am. There were three categories. Youngsters of the age group above 12 years to 15 years and 16 years to 19 years ran a distance of 12 Kms. Children less than 12 years of age ran a distance of 5 Kms. H.H. Mahamandaleshwar Swamy Yatindranand Giri of Juna Akhara, Haridwar flagged off the Marathon at 7.30 a.m. Mahamandaleshwar Swamy Yatindranand Giri of Juna Akhara of Haridwar and the dignitaries released five pigeons free to mark the freedom of Bharat declared by Netaji 74 years ago. Shri Golok Behari Rai, National organising General Secretary, FANS, Shri C.P.Radhakrishnan, Former Member of Parliament, Shri Era. Meyyappan, President FANS- Tamilnadu, Shri N.Umasankar, General Secretary FANS - Tamilnadu, Shri C.Ve.Babu, Secretary, FANS - Tamilnadu (East), Shri K.Easwaran, Secretary FANS - Tamilnadu (West), Shri S.J. Prabhu Shanmugham, FANS Villupuram District President, Shri Durai, FANS Villupram Town President, Shri R.K. Babu, Joint Co-ordinator of the Marathon, Shri Gopinanth, FANS Dharmapuri District were present. Shri C.Ve.Babu had organised the event in a grand manner. The hard work with dedication put in by him and his team was visible in the grand manner in which the event was held. Shri Padmanabhan, Villupuram District Sports Officer Shri R.Mohanasundaram, Executive Officer, Sri Ramakrishna Schools, Villupuram had been of immense support in conducting the event. The District Police led by Shri Jayakumar Superintendent of Police and Shri Shankar gave excellent support to the event. The children completed the 5 Kms stretch by 8.20 am. The participants in the senior category completed the event by 10.30 a.m. The participants were served refreshments at AKS Mahal as and when they completed. At the meeting at A K S Mahal at 11.00 a.m., Cash Prizes Rs 10000, Rs 7500, Rs 5000 were awarded to girls and boys separately to the winners in each of the six categories, thus a total of Rs 1,35,000/- was awarded as cash prizes. Certificates were issued to every one the participants. H.H. Mahamandaleshwar Swami Yatindranand Giri graciously distributed the prizes. Shri H.Raja, Former Member of Legislative Assembly and Shri C.P.Radhakrishnan, Member of Parliament graced the occasion and congratulated the winners and all the participants. Momentos were given to all the dignitaries. The members of the team were recognised by presenting a shawl and a Momento each individually by Swamiji. The event concluded with National Anthem. Swachh Bharat Program: At the play ground near the District Collectorate, the dignitaries and the youth present cleaned up the area around, so that no litter was left after the event was completed.